APEC

APEC 2014

Minister Fast joins economic leaders at the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Meeting in Beijing, China on November 11, 2014.

Minister Fast Welcomes Canadian Success in Guangzhou

Minister Fast Welcomes Canadian Success in Guangzhou

Minister Fast and Wai Young, welcome a deal between Cantronic Systems Inc. and Tongfang Shenzhen Cloudcomputing Technology Co., Ltd., of China.

Minister Fast Meets with Director General of Shanghai Environmental Protection Bureau

Minister Fast Meets with DG of Shanghai Environmental Protection Bureau

Minister Fast and delegates on the trade mission to China meet with Zhang Quan, to discuss potential cooperation in China in the area of sustainable technologies.

Address by Lois Brown, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of International Development during the 2014 APEC Women and the Economy Forum

Address by Lois Brown, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of International Development during the 2014 APEC Women

Lois Brown, announced a new initiative to promote women's economic empowerment in the Philippines, at the APEC Women and the Economy Forum.

The next APEC Summit will be held in Manila, Philippines in 2015. Please visit the Philippines APEC 2015 official website for more information.

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum was established in 1989 and has become the pre-eminent economic forum in the Asia-Pacific region. Its primary purpose is to facilitate economic growth and prosperity in the region, with the vision of creating a seamless regional economy. APEC pursues these objectives through trade and investment liberalization, business facilitation and economic and technical cooperation.

APEC aims to strengthen regional economic integration by removing impediments to trade and investment “at the border”, enhancing supply chain connectivity "across the border" and improving the business environment "behind the border". It endeavours to improve the operating environment for business by reducing the cost of cross-border trade, improving access to trade information and simplifying regulatory and administrative processes. APEC also helps member economies build the institutional capacity to implement and take advantage of the benefits of trade and investment reform. APEC supports the multilateral trade negotiations underway in the World Trade Organization and complements the goals of the G-20 Framework for Strong, Sustainable and Balanced Growth in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Private-sector engagement is central to APEC's success. The APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC), established in 1995, represents the interests of business in APEC. ABAC is composed of up to three members from each of the 21 member economies, with business representatives appointed by APEC leaders. The annual APEC CEO Summit and regular industry dialogues also provide opportunities for regional business leaders to interact with APEC leaders and address key issues affecting business in the region.

APEC operates on the basis of non-binding commitments and open dialogue. Decisions made within APEC are reached by consensus, and commitments are undertaken on a voluntary basis.

The APEC Secretariat is based in Singapore. It provides coordination and technical and advisory support as well as information management, communications and public outreach services. The Secretariat is headed by a fixed-term Executive Director who is appointed for a period of three years. The Secretariat is also home to the APEC Policy Support Unit (PSU). The PSU assists APEC's deliberations by providing research, analysis and policy support. More information on APEC, including its structure, committees and activities, can be found on APEC's official website.

Canada in APEC

Canada was a founding member of the APEC forum in 1989 and has been active in helping APEC achieve its current status. Canada has helped advance APEC's core work streams of regional economic integration through its involvement across more than 30 APEC forums, including committees, working groups and sub-forums. Canada hosted APEC in 1997, culminating in the APEC Economic Leaders Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia.

APEC's 21 member economies account for more than half of global gross domestic product and they are home to more than 2.8 billion people. In 2014, APEC partners accounted for 84% of Canada's total bilateral trade. Foreign direct investment from APEC economies in Canada was $398.8 billion in 2013.

Canadian Business Involvement in APEC

Canada’s representation on the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC) helps advance Canadian business interests in the Asia-Pacific region. 

ABAC was set up to provide a link between APEC and the business community. Drawn from the private sector, ABAC representatives are appointed by each APEC leader and collectively prepare an annual report with recommendations on how to improve the business and investment environment within the Asia-Pacific region.

Canada currently has three ABAC representatives, who are tasked with helping to strengthen Canada’s commercial interests and engagement within the region, including by promoting Canada as an investment destination of choice.

Canada’s ABAC representatives are Suzanne Benoît, President, Aéro Montréal; Deborah Close, President, Production Services Division, Tervita Corporation; and Philip Leong, Director and Vice President, ScotiaMcLeod, International Investment Advisory, Scotia Capital Inc.

The Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada acts as ABAC’s secretariat in Canada. For more information about  ABAC, please visit the ABAC website.

Related Links

L'APEC

Le prochain sommet de l’APEC se tiendra à Manille aux Philippines, en 2015. Pour plus d’information, svp visiter le site officiel Philippines APEC 2015 (anglais seulement).

Le Forum de la Coopération économique de la zone Asie-Pacifique (APEC), établi en 1989, est devenu le principal forum économique de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. Son principal objectif consiste à promouvoir la croissance économique et la prospérité dans la région, tout en créant une économie régionale homogène. L’APEC poursuit ces objectifs au moyen de la libéralisation du commerce et de l’investissement, de la facilitation du commerce et de la coopération économique et technique.

L’APEC cherche à consolider l’intégration économique régionale en éliminant les obstacles frontaliers au commerce et à l’investissement, en accroissant la connectivité des chaînes d'approvisionnement des différentes économies et en améliorant l’environnement commercial dans chacune de ces dernières. Afin d’améliorer le contexte dans lequel les entreprises exercent leurs activités, l’APEC propose des mesures pour réduire le coût des échanges transfrontières, faciliter l’accès à l’information commerciale et simplifier les processus réglementaires et administratifs. L’APEC aide aussi ses économies membres à renforcer la capacité de leurs institutions d’appliquer des réformes touchant le commerce et l’investissement et à tirer parti des avantages qui en découlent. L’APEC soutient les négociations commerciales multilatérales en cours à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et adhère aux objectifs du Cadre du G20 de croissance vigoureuse, durable et équilibrée dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

La participation du secteur privé est au cœur de la réussite de l’APEC. Établi en 1995, le Conseil consultatif des gens d’affaires de l’APEC (ABAC) représente les intérêts des gens d’affaires au sein de l’APEC. L’ABAC compte un maximum de trois représentants du milieu des affaires de chacune des 21 économies membres, qui sont désignés par les dirigeants de l’APEC. Le Sommet annuel des dirigeants d'entreprise de l’APEC et les dialogues suivis avec l’industrie offrent aussi aux chefs d’entreprises de la région des occasions d’interagir avec les dirigeants de l’APEC et d’aborder des enjeux commerciaux régionaux importants.

L’APEC fonctionne sur la base d’engagements non contraignants et d’un dialogue ouvert. Les décisions y sont prises par consensus, et les engagements sont accomplis de façon volontaire.

Le Secrétariat de l’APEC, établi à Singapour, assure la coordination des activités de l’organisation et fournit un soutien technique ainsi que des services de conseil, de gestion de l’information, de communication et de relations publiques. Le Secrétariat est dirigé par un directeur exécutif, nommé pour un mandat à durée déterminée de trois ans. Le Secrétariat abrite aussi l’Unité de soutien des politiques de l’APEC, qui appuie les délibérations de l’APEC en fournissant des recherches, des analyses et un soutien en matière de politiques. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur l’APEC, sa structure, ses comités et ses activités sur le site Web officiel de l’APEC.

Le Canada dans l’APEC

Comptant parmi les membres fondateurs de l'APEC en 1989, le Canada a depuis aidé activement l'organisation à acquérir sa stature actuelle. Il a contribué à l'avancement de ses principaux travaux, visant notamment une plus grande intégration économique régionale, en participant à plus de 30 mécanismes de l'organisation, dont des comités, groupes de travail et sous-groupes. Le Canada a accueilli l'APEC en 1997 et, à ce titre, la Réunion des dirigeants économiques de l'APEC, à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Les 21 économies membres de l’APEC regroupent plus de 2,8 milliards d’habitants et sont à l’origine de plus de la moitié du produit intérieur brut mondial. En 2014, les partenaires de l’APEC comptaient pour 84 p. 100 de l’ensemble du commerce bilatéral du Canada.L'investissement étranger direct des économies de l'APEC au Canada totalisait 398,8 milliards de dollars en 2013.

Participation des entreprises canadiennes dans l’APEC

Les représentants du Canada au Conseil consultatif des gens d’affaires de l’APEC (APEC Business Advisory Council [ABAC]) aident à promouvoir les intérêts des entreprises canadiennes dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

L’ABAC a été créé afin d’établir un lien entre l’APEC et le milieu des affaires. Les représentants faisant partie du Conseil, qui proviennent du secteur privé, sont nommés par le dirigeant de chaque pays membre, et ils préparent ensemble un rapport annuel comportant des recommandations sur la façon de rendre l’environnement d’affaires dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique plus propice au commerce et à l’investissement.

Présentement, le Canada a trois représentants au sein de l’ABAC. Ils sont chargés d’aider à faire avancer les intérêts commerciaux canadiens dans la région ainsi que d’y accroître la participation canadienne, y compris en faisant la promotion du Canada comme une destination de choix où investir.

Les représentants actuels du Canada au sein de l’ABAC sont Mme Suzanne Benoit, présidente-directrice générale, Aéro Montréal, Mme Deborah Close, présidente, Division des services de production, Tervita Corporation, et M. Philip Leong, directeur et vice-président, ScotiaMcLeod, International Investment Advisory, Scotia Capital Inc.

La Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada agit à titre de secrétariat de l’ABAC au Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’ABAC, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ABAC (en anglais uniquement).

 

Liens reliés

(anglais seulement)